Korey TaylorExplorer

    The joy of life comes from our encounters with new experiences, and hence there is no greater joy than to have an endlessly changing horizon, for each day to have a new and different sun.

    Explorer

    🥇Top Contributor

    5 months ago

    Favorite Fort Collins Hike

    If you can only do one hike while in Fort Collins I would do this one. The proximity to the town and the view from the top make this an awesome hike. You gain elevation quickly over a short distance but it is definitely worth the effort.

    Explorer

    🥇Top Contributor

    5 months ago

    Beautiful Winter Hike

    This is an absolutely beautiful winter hike that I recommend doing if you’re in the park. I actually managed this hike with only snow boots in early March, but for earlier in the winter season you’re definitely going to need those snow shoes.

    Explorer

    🥇Top Contributor

    5 months ago

    Epic Sunrise

    Guanella Pass truly offers a spectacular sunrise. I would recommend camping in the dispersed camping along the road and set your alarm early to drive to the top of the pass before sunrise. Another excellent way to watch the sunrise is to start hiking Bierstadt with a headlamp before the sun comes up.

    Explorer

    🥇Top Contributor

    5 months ago

    Favorite BLM Camping

    These are some of my favorite dispersed camping spots in Colorado. They offer great views of the milky way and the best way to get an early start on summitting nearby fourteeners. These are primitive sites, so no facilities and everything must be packed in and packed out. They can become full on weekends so I always recommend to get there early to ensure you have a camp spot for the night!

    Explorer

    🥇Top Contributor

    5 months ago

    Great Beginner 14er

    I loved hiking Mt Evans because of the high altitude trailhead and short distance to the summit. It’s a beautiful mountain and if you have time it’s worth making the hike up! I will reiterate what the previous review said and be aware of weather rolling in. I hiked this in July and a storm rolled in that produced snow on the summit. However, this lead us to hitching a ride from a couple who drove to the summit and that was a hell of a quicker way to get down!

    Explorer

    🥇Top Contributor

    5 months ago

    Beautiful But Crowded

    St. Mary’s Glacier is a beautiful spot but because of it’s relatively short distance from Denver and short trail length it can become overcrowded quickly. I would not attempt this spot on weekends unless you plan on arriving early in the morning to get a parking spot and experience a sparser crowd. However, it’s a Colorado classic and worth the visit. If you make it up to the lake, I recommend taking the trail to the right of the lake that heads up to the side of the mountain. This offers a spectacular view of the valley below.

    Explorer

    🥇Top Contributor

    5 months ago

    Excellent Views of the Shield

    This is a great hike to see the huge rock formation known as "The Shield". The first half of the hike can be strenuous because you're just gaining elevation, but the views are absolutely worth it. I would definitely recommend this hike if you're a first time hiker in the Sandias.

    Explorer

    🥇Top Contributor

    5 months ago

    Beautiful View of Albuquerque Sunset

    The Embudito Canyon is an excellent place to watch the sunset over Albuquerque. However, there are so many trails crossing over each other near the trailhead that without a topo map I would have been very confused. I would definitely recommend having an exact idea of where you want to go before starting this hike.

    Explorer

    🥇Top Contributor

    10 months ago

    Easy Summit Near Santa Fe

    I hiked only to the Picacho Peak (~3.5 miles RT) the first week in February. Lower parts of the trail required spikes and I saw a few other hikers with poles to help. Otherwise, this was a fantastic winter hike close to Santa Fe. I was actually surprised at how few people I saw on a trail so close to town, but that's one of the many things I love about New Mexico.

    Experience of a Lifetime

    My group decided to do the driving option and it indeed took about 6-7 hours with traffic from Nairobi. However it was completely worth it! We saw some incredible animals, many “circle of life” occasions, so be prepared for that. Also the Rhino is included in the Big 5 but since it’s endangered and considered a shy animal by the locals, I wouldn’t set expectations to see one. Regardless you will see plenty of other animals to satiate your needs!

    Explorer

    🥇Top Contributor

    about 1 year ago

    Kiss a Giraffe

    It was a wonderful experience to feed the giraffes at this center. If you want you can even put a piece of food in your mouth and get a “giraffe kiss”. Beware of Daisy though, she doesn’t like kids!

    Explorer

    🥇Top Contributor

    about 1 year ago

    Worth the visit

    Make sure you plan to get there at least an hour early if you want a spot in front! You get to interact with the elephants and it’s an amazing experience.

    Explorer

    🥇Top Contributor

    over 1 year ago

    Challenging Hike

    A challenging hike especially since I opted to go back down the incline which was hard on the knees! Be prepared for a challenge and bring lots of water!

    Explorer

    🥇Top Contributor

    over 3 years ago

    Great View Of Downtown

    This would be a perfect trail to watch the sunrise (which is on my list). Incredible view of downtown on a clear day and was blown away by how far I could see.

    Explorer

    🥇Top Contributor

    over 3 years ago

    Great Morning Hike

    I did this hike recently on a summer morning to avoid the heat of the day. It's a perfect way to start the day and finish by tubing down Clear Creek. The only downside for me was the presence of rattle snakes and having my dogs with me. I was unaware of these dangers until I showed up and saw the sign. After asking around, they are very prevalent in the hot summer months so it might be best to leave the pup at home.

    Explorer

    🥇Top Contributor

    over 3 years ago

    Must See

    Hiked to the falls in late April and most of the waterfall was still frozen over, but still so beautiful. The road out there was REALLY rough on my 2WD car, but it made it without falling apart. Win! If you're already in the area for the Great Sand Dunes I highly recommend checking the falls out as a part of your trip!

    Explorer

    🥇Top Contributor

    over 4 years ago

    Great First 14er

    I loved this hike! The views were amazing in all directions and the weather was so nice at the top that we were able to hang out there for a while. I would get there as early as you can to beat the crowds, even on a weekday the overflow cars went up the road about a quarter of a mile!

    Explorer

    🥇Top Contributor

    over 4 years ago

    Great Car Camping

    I was shocked when I drove up to this spot, it was so picturesque. Once you reach the day-use parking lot there is a road that continues along through the woods. There are tons of secluded spots within the trees, but I kept driving further down the road. You'll eventually come to an opening and there are fire rings set up in a beautiful meadow with a view of the nearby mountain tops. I went during the week and had no problem getting one of the 4 spots in the meadow.

    Explorer

    🥇Top Contributor

    over 4 years ago

    Perfect Afternoon Hike

    Completed this hike on a Thursday in May and it was the perfect weather for an afternoon hike. Dogs are allowed off leash if they are under voice command which I love! There were still a lot of people on the trail even for a week day, but that didn't take away from the experience. We had some great conversation and made some new friends as we spent an hour just hanging out around the arch. Afterwards we grabbed a couple beers at the Santias brewery- which has an awesome dog-friendly patio and a great selection of beers!

    Explorer

    🥇Top Contributor

    over 4 years ago

    Beautiful and Iconic

    Definitely worth visiting at sunset. I agree with all of the other reviews about visiting on weekday if at all possible. I was there on a Monday and was virtually the only person for miles around.

    Explorer

    🥇Top Contributor

    over 4 years ago

    Iconic

    I decided to drive up to the Point Reyes Shipwreck to see it before it was removed. It was such an iconic and unique part of the landscape and it was disheartening to see it partially burned up. Glad I made the trip out here! The small town of Inverness is a great little stop on the way to Cypress Tree Tunnel as well.

    Explorer

    🥇Top Contributor

    over 4 years ago

    Beautiful Redwoods and Waterfalls

    A small group of us hiked this counter-clockwise based on all the reviews and that was definitely a great suggestion. It's just unfortunate that essentially the first five miles (or last depending on the direction the loop is hiked) that comprises the Sunset Trail doesn't offer much in scenery. We decided to actually jog that part of the trail and then take our time on the remainder of the hike. The waterfalls were flowing this time of year (end of April) and they were beautiful and the Redwoods were stunning in the afternoon light. All-in-all with jogging that first part the loop took us about 4.5 hours.

    Explorer

    🥇Top Contributor

    over 4 years ago

    Perfect Beginner 13er

    This was my first mountain summit and while it was rather strenuous in the beginning the views were unbeatable. I made the trek at the end of April and there was still a ton of snow and some sketchy areas on the East side of the ridge as you make your way to the summit. There wasn't really any trail the entire way so I just tried to stay on the west side of the ridge. I had my dogs with me and they absolutely loved it. They were able to easily complete the hike without me worrying about their safety. Loved this hike, definitely recommend it!

    Explorer

    🥇Top Contributor

    almost 5 years ago

    Incredible hut!

    The was my first backcountry experience in Colorado and I have to say the bar was set pretty high. Even more than the unbeatable views of the valley below, this hut was equipped with amenities that I would not have expected to be here! Even though I'm not a backcountry skier I still had an amazing time and had plenty to do! Definitely recommend this hut!