Dan Toups

🥈 Contributor

over 4 years ago

Great trail system

While the tracks were really cool to see, I thought the best part of the entire park were the endless amounts of trails. I believe there are over 20 miles worth. I mountain biked, which is great to get away from the crowds, and the trails became extremely remote. The river crossings were a blast and the best part was jumping in the river afterwards!

🥈 Contributor

over 4 years ago

360 Views

This is a great area to drop a tent and primitive camp before heading up to Sugarloaf. Nice suggestion!

🥈 Contributor

over 4 years ago

Fun half-day trip

I love Devil's Head, as the Rampart Range can still feel very remote. It sticks out like a sore thumb between between the views of Pike's Peak and Mt. Evans from the buttes of Castle Rock. Like the review said, the road up can be a bit rough but no 4X4 is necessarily needed. Lots of hikers of all ages/levels. It is easy to get off of the beaten path and explore some of the large boulders that surround the Fire Tower. Great review!

🥈 Contributor

over 4 years ago

Great Trail

Although I have never snowshoed this trail, I have hiked it a time or two. Like the review stated, parking can fill up quickly, but the views are amazing and there are plenty of places to camp. Snowshoeing is definitely on the to-do list now.

🥈 Contributor

over 4 years ago

Great suggestion.

While I never got the chance to summit Acatenango, I lived in three different towns (Patzicia, Esquintla, and Patalul) around the volcano over the course of a few years and hiked countless Aldeas in the area. This is some of the most beautiful and lush landscape in the world. The mountain towns of Guatemala are peaceful and filled with great places to grab lunch after a hike...especially in Antigua.

🥈 Contributor

over 4 years ago

Great Suggestion!

This is one of the best places in DFW. My activity of choice is road biking followed by paddle boarding in front of the historic mansions. Those who were born and raised in Dallas grew up hearing about the urban legend of "The Lady of the Lake".

🥈 Contributor

almost 5 years ago

Experienced swimmers only

My brother-in-law had his wedding ring sucked right off his finger by a wave at Sandy Beach. This place, while amazing, is no joke.

🥈 Contributor

almost 5 years ago

Paia or bust

I am not a huge fan of being in the car in Hawaii, but if you feel the need to go for a long drive, it does not get much better than this. Paia is one of the coolest small towns on the map, and it is surreal to be surrounded by some of the best watermen on the planet. If you are unfamiliar with this area, google "Jaws"...the wave.

🥈 Contributor

almost 5 years ago

Awesome bay!

This bay a quick trip from the Kaanapali area. We parked on the side of the road and hiked the beautiful trail to the "beach" which is all rock. We carried nothing but our snorkeling gear and some water down and jumped right in. Lots of reef and beautiful fish, however the bay is deceptively deep in the middle. I have heard that the swell can be brutal here, but the summer months bring calm water.

🥈 Contributor

almost 5 years ago

One of the best hikes in Summit County

Completed this hike on a cool evening in August. The trail is so clearly marked that I was able to easily get back to my truck in the dark with a headlamp. This was such a great hike that I decided on the spot to grab my backpacking gear and find a dispersed site off in the trees to make camp. Woke up early, did a short hike up to the marshy meadow to look for a moose and then headed 10 minutes back into Breckenridge for a bagel and coffee.

🥈 Contributor

almost 5 years ago

Great hike

Took my 2.5 year old on this hike and he loved it. It was a fun drive to the trail head with lots of picnic tables and places to relax. The castle is really cool, and the views of downtown Denver are great.

🥈 Contributor

almost 5 years ago

Iconic Colorado Lake

We got there early on a fairly rainy morning and parking was easy, however when we finished the hike, cars were circling for open spots. One of the prettiest hikes that I have ever been on for such a relatively short hike. Very steep in certain areas, but the views are spectacular. Everyone raves about how pretty the lake is, but if you turn around 180°, the views of the canyon are just as amazing. Just a fair bit of advice to the parents of young hikers out there, I highly recommend bringing a hiking backpack with a child carrier as certain areas are steep and the elevation gain can be overwhelming. All in all, a must do hike.

Great Road Cycling

If you live in the Castle Rock area, the rolling country roads to Castlewood Canyon are perfect for a road cycling ride before exploring the canyon. Been here no less than 10 times and have never seen a crowd.

🥈 Contributor

almost 5 years ago

One of the coolest places

This may be one of the best hidden gems in Texas, as most locals in Houston have never even heard of the park. There are some amazing trails off the beaten path. The largest gator that I have ever seen in my life was sunning itself across one of the trails.

🥈 Contributor

almost 5 years ago

Great Day Trip from Dallas, Fort Worth, and OKC

The lower pools and park area can get extremely crowded, but for those that do not mind a nice hike and some exploring, there are some great pools up in the hills. Keep an eye out for arrow heads and fossils in this area too!